Delete Protection allows developers to shield selected servers from deletion.
What is Delete Protection?
This feature stops specific servers from being accidentally deleted from your account. Delete Protection helps developers to prevent applications from going down and gives more control over your server mix. This includes avoiding deletion of core servers when scaling down via the API, and safeguarding servers with intentionally unique configurations ("snowflakes").
How does it work?
To enable Delete Protection feature on any server, simply add a
c66.delete.protection tag to that server.
When Delete Protection feature is enabled on a server, it will be not deleted if a server group is scaled down via the API. Any specific requests to delete the server (via web or API) will also be rejected until the tag is removed.
This feature works with all Cloud 66 products: Rails, Node and Maestro.
- Link to docs: Deleted Protection
- Link to docs: Scaling your application